Collections: South Asian and Himalayan

The arts of South Asia and the Himalayas are closely intertwined with the subcontinent’s many religious traditions. This region, which includes India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Bhutan, and Tibet, is the birthplace of three major religions: Hinduism, Jainism, and Buddhism. The Islamic kingdoms that were established in South Asia in the twelfth century brought new visual traditions to the subcontinent. With more than 1,200 objects, the museums’ South Asian and Himalayan collections illuminate these richly diverse sacred traditions as well as the secular arts of the Mughal and Rajput courts.

Browse artworks in this section »

This post is also available in: 한국어

detail of the Shiva Nataraja sculpture

Body Image


Yoga: The Art of Transformation

the site of one of Babur's gardens

Discovering Babur's Gardens

Performer: North Indian Classical Music: Vishwa Mohan Bhatt, mohan vina; Subhen Chatterjee, tabla

North Indian Classical Music


Worlds Within Worlds

detail from a Prince holding an audience F1907.186

Support our Collections