Akira Nishimura’s Spring: Jasper Quartet

Thursday, April 4, 2019, 7:30 PM

Hear the world premiere of Japanese composer Akira Nishimura’s latest work, Spring, along with his second string quartet, Pulse of Light, performed by recent winners of the prestigious Cleveland Quartet Award. Nishimura, former composer-in-residence with the Tokyo Symphony Orchestra, has written works for the Kronos Quartet and the Arditti Quartet, among many other ensembles. The program also includes Haydn’s Quartet op. 64, no. 6, and Mendelssohn’s lyrically beautiful String Quartet in D. Presented in conjunction with the National Cherry Blossom Festival.

Image courtesy of Dario Acosta

  • Venue: Freer Gallery of Art
  • Event Location: Freer, Meyer Auditorium
  • Cost: Tickets: $6 in advance (pick your seats); remaining tickets free at the door